NJ Amends Law on Child Safety Seats

Car Seat
Car Seat

In May of this year, Gov. Chris Christie signed legislation to update New Jersey’s laws regarding child safety seats in vehicles.  The legislation takes into account the recommendations of the American Academy of Pediatrics and the New Jersey Division of Highway Traffic Safety.

The revised law is effective September 1, 2015, and says, in part, that infants and toddlers must remain rear-facing until age 2 and weigh at least 30 pounds. When the child reaches 30 pounds, they can then be changed to a forward-facing, five-point harness car seat. Children ages 2 through 4 must be in a car seat. Children ages 4 through 8 must be seated in a five-point harness car seat, or a booster seat until they are 8 years old or they are 57 inches in height.

Beginning September 1, the fines for violating the new car set law range from $50 to $75.

The revised law can be found here: http://www.njleg.state.nj.us/2014/Bills/A3500/3161_R1.PDF

Related Post

Knife Clipped to the Pocket, Don’t Do This Tactical pen, kubaton and fixed blades are some alternatives to folding knives in states that target them.I used to carry a folding knife clipped...
Breastfeeding as a Preparedness Tool As a mother of three children, who breastfed two of them, I consider myself pretty well versed in breastfeeding. I did not breastfeed my oldest at all...
What NJ’s New Governor Means For Gun Rights New Jersey’s next governor is a Democrat. This is extremely important when it comes to gun rights in the state. NJ currently has some of the most rest...
Be Healthy, Be Prepared I previously shared my personal story regarding my diagnosis with Sickle Cell. With that in mind, I thought I would discuss the things I learned from ...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply